USA swimming honors its own

USA swimming honors its own

SA Swimming announced its annual awards at the United States Aquatic Sports convention in Orlando, Fla.

Lenny Krayzelburg, fresh off of winning three gold medals at the 2000 Olympic Games, was named Swimmer of the Year for the second straight time. Krayzelburg won the 100 and 200 meter backstrokes in Sydney, as well as leading off the world recordbreaking 400 meter medley relay. The award is voted on by USA Swimming’s House of Delegates.

Misty Hyman’s Olympic gold medal swim in the 200 meter butterfly was voted the Phillips 66 Performance of the Year. Hyman defeated a heavily favored Susie O’Neill of Australia to win the gold in 2:05.88, a time that bettered the legendary Mary T. Meagher’s long-standing American record and was just 7-hundredths off of the world mark. O’Neill hadn’t lost the 200 meter fly race in six years, and Hyman’s win has been called one of the biggest upsets in swimming histry. The Phillips 66 Performance of the Year is voted on by media who cover swimming on a regular basis.

Richard Quick, the 2000 Olympic head coach, was voted Coach of the Year. Quick is a four-time U.S. Olympic coach, serving as head coach in both 1996 and this year in Sydney. Quick has been the head women’s coach at Stanford since 1988. Four swimmers with Stanford ties made the 2000 Olympic team, including Dara Torres, Jenny Thompson, Misty Hyman and Gabrielle Rose. Torres won five medals in Sydney, including two gold, while Thompson collected four (three golds).

Larry Shofe was named the Developmental Coach of the Year, an award given to the coach who places the most athletes on the national junior team. Shofe, who has coached at Bolles in Jacksonville, Fla., for 14 years, placed three athletes on this year’s junior team. He was on the 2000 Olympic coaching staff for Jamaica.

Dick Robinson was presented with the prestigious USA Swimming Award, given to an individual who has made extraordinary contributions to the organization. Robinson spent 27 years with Phillips Petroleum, most recently as the Director of Recreation and Athletics. He served as the point person for USA Swimming’s longstanding relationship with Phillips, which has sponsored USA Swimming since 1973, the longest continuous sponsorship of any amateur sport by any corporation in the world. Phillips sponsors USA Swimming’s annual Performance of the Year award as well as Performance of the Meet awards at the Phillips 66 National Championships and the U.S. Open, in addition to involvement with other programs that support USA Swimming athletes.

The Athletes’ Appreciation Award was presented to the 1976 U.S. women’s Olympic team. The team, battling an East German squad using performance-enhancing drugs, fought back to win a single gold in the 400 meter free relay and set numerous American records at the meet. Relay member Jill Sterkel as well as head coach Jack Nelson were on hand to accept the award on behalf of the entire team. Also honored at the convention was the ASCA Coach of the Year, awarded to Brandon Blue Wave’s Peter Banks. Banks coached Brooke Bennett to two gold medals in Sydney, with Bennett winning the 400 and 800 free.

The Adapted and Open Water committees also gave out athlete awards. The Trischa L. Zorn Award, given to a swimmer with a disability in honor of outstanding achievements during the year, was presented to Erin Popovich. Popovich won five gold medals at the USA Swimming Disability Championships and competed in the 2000 Paralympic Games at Sydney in October.

Mark Leonard was honored as the Open Water Swimmer of the Year, after winning national titles in the 5K and 25K. Leonard qualified for the 2000 Open Water World Championships which were held Oct. 29-Nov. 4 in Hawaii. Regan Scheiber, who is also on the World Championships team, was honored with the Open Water Committee Award.

Other awards presented at the convention included:

* Glenn S. Hummer Award (presented to an individual for contributions to open water swimming): Brian Schrader

Safety Commendation Award:

Stew and Kim Leonard

* Ken Pettigrew Award (presented

by the officials): Wells O’Brien

Adapted Swimming Service

Award: Libby Andersen

* Life Memberships: Sandi Blumit, Carolynn Burt, Debbie Case, Gary Eder, Robert Eisele, Eric Fucito, John Geary, Pauline Hubbell, William Huey, Mel Knapp, Kurt Krumpholz, Richard Lowry, Daniel McAllen III, John Riess, Gwendolyn Sacco, Thomas Sacco, Duncan Scott, Larry Shofe, Rose Snyder.

Copyright Sports Publications, Inc. Nov 2000

Provided by ProQuest Information and Learning Company. All rights Reserved.