IBCA girls basketball all-stars ready to shine –

IBCA girls basketball all-stars ready to shine — JS area represented


BLOOMINGTON – A contingent of nine Journal Star-area players arrived here Thursday to begin practice for the 2002 Illinois Basketball Coaches Association girls all-star game.

JS-area players on the Class A South team are Michaela Fray and Marcy Dixon of state runner-up Augusta Southeastern/Colchester/ Industry and Sarah Vaughn of Rushville.

JS-area players for the Class A North are Molly McMorrow of Illinois Valley Central, Kelsie Heimann of Brimfield, Lindsey Stalzer of Kewanee and Lisa Curry of Stark County.

Shannon Winne of Notre Dame and Janelle Yaklich of LaSalle-Peru represent the JS area on the Class AA South team.

Today’s 3:30 p.m. practice at Shirk Center on the campus of Illinois Wesleyan University is the opener to the weekend of events that include a player/parent banquet at 7 p.m. today.

The event is culminated with Saturday’s Class A and AA games for recently graduated seniors.

The Class A game is set for a 5 p.m. tipoff at Shirk, with the Class AA game at 7 p.m. Doors open at 4.

Tickets to the games can be purchased today at Shirk for $5 or Saturday at the door for $6.

The teams will practice again Saturday morning. The A and AA South teams will have the floor from 9 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. and the North squads will practice from 10:30 to noon.

All practice sessions are open to the public.

Silver Streakless: For the first time in three years, Galesburg will not be represented at the IBCA event.

JS Class AA Player of the Year Sarah Pacheco was the Galesburg representative on the 2001 all-star squad. Jaque Howard and Megan Pacheco were on the 2000 AA South team.

Sarah Larson represented the Western Big Six Conference state power in 1999.

Copyright 2002

Provided by ProQuest Information and Learning Company. All rights Reserved.