New York Yankees Sweep Atlanta Braves In World Series; Team Wins Second-Straight Series Title

New York Yankees Sweep Atlanta Braves In World Series; Team Wins Second-Straight Series Title – Brief Article

The New York Yankees, sports’ most storied franchise, completed its season-long goal of winning back-to-back World Series titles with a convincing four-game Series sweep over the Atlanta Braves, allowing this Yankees team to join the 1927-28 and 1938-39 Yankees as the only teams to sweep consecutive World Series. (The Yankees swept the San Diego Padres last year.)

In the history of the World Series, there have only been 15 teams that have swept their opponents. This year’s contest was the Yankees’ 36th World Series appearance, which resulted in the team’s third championship in four years (’96, ’97, ’99) and its 25th title since 1923. Fans, historians and baseball officials agree that the Bronx Bombers’ domination in the 1900s clearly establishes it as the “Team of the Century.” No other team during the century comes close to the Yankees’ World Series success; the nine championships by the St. Louis Cardinals and the Philadelphia/Oakland Athletics come closest.

“We are the most successful [sports] franchise of the century. Our 25 championships breaks down to a title every four years, and it doesn’t get any better than that,” said Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter, who tied a post-season record with a 17-game hitting streak during the playoffs. “This year we had great pitchers, great defense and we just found ways to win.”

Before the Series’ second game in Atlanta, the long-awaited announcement of Major League Baseball’s All-Century team was finally made and quickly became the subject of controversy. Of the more than 15,000 players who showcased their talents in Major League Baseball during the 20th century, only 100 were considered and just 30 were named to the team, a team that was compiled primarily by fan voting (a special committee added five other players–Honus Wagner, Stan Musial, Lefty Grove, Christy Mathewson and Warren Spahn–who were bypassed by voters).

Surprisingly, the team is comprised of only six Blacks, Including Jackie Robinson, Bob Gibson, Ernie Banks, Hank Aaron, Willie Mays and Ken Griffey Jr. More surprisingly, the nine-man starting team includes only two Blacks, Robinson and Mays, with Aaron, who broke Babe Ruth’s career home run record, as the biggest omission.

Voting was conducted by fans from July 13 to September 19. They were asked to pick two players at each infield position, two catchers, six pitchers and nine outfielders.

In another development during the Series, San Diego Padres outfielder Tony Gwynn, who this year joined the elite group of players who have 3,000 hits, was the recipient of the prestigious Roberto Clemente Man of the Year Award, which is presented to only one player each year in recognition of his humanitarian efforts.

COPYRIGHT 1999 Johnson Publishing Co.

COPYRIGHT 2000 Gale Group