League business

League business

Creditors’ Rights Section Announces Candidates For Election to Office

Marlena Lilian Siegel, the Immediate Past Chair of the Creditors’ Rights Section and Chair of its Nominating Committee, announced the candidates for Officer and Executive Council positions as certified by the Committee when it met at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel during the 104th Annual Convention of the CLLA.

Joseph Marino of Verona, New Jersey, (current Chair-Elect) will become the Chair in November. Other officer positions will be filled as follows:

Chair-Elect/Sidney Friedman (Baltimore, MD)

Treasurer/Arlene Cohen Miller (Longmont, CO)

Secretary/David Gamache (St. Louis, MO)

Four positions are open on the Executive Council, for which there are six candidates. Their names are presented here in the order in which their applications were received:

Beau Hays/Atlanta, GA

Bob Levy/Commack, NY

Christine Hayes Hickey/Indianapolis, IN

Robert A. Bernstein/North Charleston, SC

Nicholas D. Krawec/Pittsburgh, PA

Richard Roosen/Troy, Ml

Dana Casher/Boston, MA

The elections will be held in New York at the General Membership Meeting of the Section during the Eastern Regional Meeting (November 20-23,1998).

New England Region News

Jonathan R. Goldsmith of the Springfield, Massachusetts, law office of Hendel & Collins, PC was elected Chair of the New England Regional Members’ Association of the Commercial Law League of America during its recently concluded 50th Annual Meeting. Goldsmith announced that the 51st Annual Meeting will be held May 28-31, 1999, at The Equinox, Manchester Village, Vermont.

The newly elected Chair-Elect is Richard Creem, of counsel to the law firm of Smith, Levenson, Smith & Cullen, PC., Boston, Massachusetts; Shelley Morrison of the law office of Morrison & Kiely, Boston, Massachusetts, was elected to serve as Treasurer; and Lewis J. Cohn of Boston, Massachusetts, was elected as Secretary

Newly elected members of the Executive Council were:

Daniel M. Karger

Karger & Silverstein

Boston, MA

Dana Casher

Krulewich & Casher

Boston, MA

Gary Weiner

Weiner Sz Rothschild

Springfield, MA

Marc Wallick

Wallick Sz Paolino

Warwick, RI

David Shorr

Office of David I. Shorr

Framingham, MA

Robert Osol

Melia Sr Osol

Worcester, MA

Kevin Kiely of the Boston, Massachusetts, office of Morrison and Kiely recently completed a one-year term as Chair of the Region and hosted a spectacular fun-filled weekend at Cape Cod for the 50th Anniversary Meeting. Kiely will assume the office of Immediate Past Chair of the Region.

For more information regarding the 51st Annual Meeting to be held at The Equinox, contact: Jonathan R. Goldsmith, Chair (413) 734-6411.

1998 International Conference

The CLLA joined with the League International of Creditors (LIC) in Marbella, Spain for the third international conference presented by the League. Over 100 attorneys and agencies attended.

Under the chair of Nancy Hamilton, the League’s International Conference Committee is studying holding a 1999 International conference in Canada.

The League’s first conference was held in 1994 in London, England in cooperation with the U.S. Embassy In 1996, the League along with Dutch partners VIA and INSOLAD presented a conference in Amsterdam.

Copyright Commercial Law League of America Sep/Oct 1998

Provided by ProQuest Information and Learning Company. All rights Reserved.