Reporter Racks Up Honors – Laura S. Washington, journalist

Reporter Racks Up Honors – Laura S. Washington, journalist – Brief Article

Laura S. Washington, editor and publisher of The Chicago Reporter, was among seven journalists honored at a Women in History Month celebration March 26 at the Chicago Urban League, 4510 S. Michigan Ave. She received the 5th Annual Women in History Month Award for her work in print media. The awards were sponsored by the Alpha Gamma Pi Organization, The Metropolitan Cluster, The National Hook-Up of Black Women Inc. and the Chicago Urban League. Other honorees included Mary G. Denson of The Windy City Word, Janice Garth of Chicago Citizen Newspaper Group, Hermene Hartman of N’Digo, Dorothy R. Leavell of Crusader Newspapers, Gloria Sharrieff of the Tri-City Journal and Theresa Fambrose-Hooks of the Chicago Defender.

And on March 30 the International Press Club of Chicago inducted Washington into the Chicago Journalism Hall of Fame. The club honored six “living legends,” including Henry Kisor and Taylor Bell of the Chicago Sun-Times; Joel Daly of WLS-TV, Channel 7; Tim Weigel, WBBM-TV, Channel 2; and Edward Baumann, who has worked for several Chicago newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune.

The Illinois Associated Press Broadcasters Association honored writer Sarah Karp and former Reporter intern Leah Bobal with a first place award for the investigative report, “1,000 Feet,” the radio version of the May 2000 article, “State Drug Law Hits City Teens, Minorities,” which was produced in collaboration with WBEZ 91.5 FM Chicago Public Radio.

COPYRIGHT 2001 Community Renewal Society

COPYRIGHT 2001 Gale Group