Bligh Voller Nield, Hassell, John Wardle Architects with Wilson Architects, and Daryl Jackson Architects have been shortlisted in the design competition for the University of Queensland’s Brain Institute >> Sydney-based architects Rice Daubney have opened an office in Brisbane >> Craig Mecklem has been appointed Retail Designer at PDT Architects >> At the Design Institute of Australia (DIA)’s Three–Queensland Design Awards 2004, awards of merit were received by M3 Architecture for Set/Display Design (Paper Wall for the RAIA Queensland State Awards) and Public Art Collaboration (Micro-Health Laboratory at The University of Queensland); Hassell for Interior Design–Corporate (Rotondo Dental Practice); and 1.618 Architecture + Interior + Design for Interior Design–Retail (Guggenheim Hair + Body) >> The RAIA Queensland regional awards are now well underway. In Brisbane regional commendations were received by Brand and Slater Architects for Normanby Hotel; John Price and Elizabeth Musgrave for Hilltop Residence, Paddington; Jeremy Salmon Architect for Paddington Residence; Parups Waring Architects for St Margaret’s Anglican Girls School Arts Centre Stage 1; HPA Architects for Mossvale Integrated Housing; HPA Architects for Arbour on Grey, Southbank; ML Design Brisbane for Brisbane BMW Showroom; Brisbane City Council–City Design for Nudgee Waterhole; HOK Sport+Venue+Event and PDT Architects for Suncorp Stadium; Project Services for Western Campus. Logan Institute of TAFE; Shane Plazibat Architect for Fig Tree Pocket House; Daryl Jackson for Queensland Bioscience Precinct; Daryl Jackson for Virgin Blue Flight Simulator and Training Centre; Fairweather Proberts Architects for Catalina; Fairweather Proberts Architects for Dig–It Landscapes; Richard Kirk Architect for Cutting Edge; Richard Kirk Architect for Hopkins and Clark; Hassell for Rotondo Dental Practice; Donovan Hill for Taringa 2; Donovan Hill for M M House; Peddle Thorp and Donovan Hill for GPN3 (General Purpose North 3), UQ; Robin Spencer Architects for Story Bridge Hotel; [J.sup.2] studio for Dunbar; Bickerton Masters Architecture for 99 Brookes Street; James Cutbitt Architects for Defence Housing Authority–John French Estate. On the Sunshine Coast regional commendations were received by Peter Conley and Associates for Sirocco; Ken Down Architects for Golden Eye Clinic; Onedegree for Cooloola Shire Public Gallery; Middap and Ditchfield for Riverfront House; Rhonan O’Brien Architects and Designers for “Montego’s on the Bay” Restaurant; Loucas Zahos Architects for Tewantin Retreat: John Mainwaring and Associates for Modica Residence. On the Darling Downs regional commendations were received by Project Services for Toowoomba Police Station; Ehrlich Layton International for Commercial Office; Namoi Cotton, Project Services for Horticultural Facility, South Queensland Institute of TAFE. In Central Queensland regional commendations were received by Dimitriou Architects and Interior Designers for Heron Island Research Station; Peddle Thorp Architects for Gladstone Regional Art Gallery Extension; and Andrews and Girle Architects for Gracemere Exhibition Centre. In Mackay regional commendations went to Peter Conley and Associates for Waters Edge; Peddle Thorp Architects for Mater Private Hospital, Mackay; and Paul Ipson Architects for Whistler Way Apartments. In North Queensland regional commendations went to ML Design Brisbane for Nelly Bay Ferry Terminal; Kerrie Prescott for Ryan Catholic College, Junior Campus. In Far North Queensland regional commendations were received by Brand and Slater Architects for Gilligans Backpackers Hotel and Resort; Peddle Thorp Architects for Peddle Fogarty Park Soundshell; Peddle Thorp Architects for Esplanade Boardwalk Information Nodes; Cox Rayner Architects in association with Tract Consultants for Cairns Esplanade Redevelopment; Insideout Architects for Mija; John Mainwaring and Associates for The Sanctuary, Palm Cove.

COPYRIGHT 2004 Architecture Media

COPYRIGHT 2004 Gale Group