The President’s academic fitness awards

The President’s academic fitness awards

In partial response to concerns about the quality of American education voiced by the National Commission on Excellence in Education, and during a series of 12 regional forums around the country, President Reagan has established the President’s Academic Fitness Awards, modeled on the President’s Physical Fitness Awards program. The goal of the new program is to encourage students to achieve and maintain academic fitness and to sustain a national interest in the academic fitness of our Nation’s youth.

To qualify for the award, students must meet the following criteria:

* They must have attained a B+ average throughout grades 9, 10, 11, and the first semester of grade 12;

* They must score at or above the 80th percentile on any of the nationally recognized standardized achievement tests, such as the SAT or ACT; and

* They must have completed, by high school graduation, at least 12 high school or higher level course units in the “new basics,” as defined by A Nation at Risk, the Report of the National Commission on Excellence in Education.

During the 1983-84 school year, the pilot year for the program, more than 9,800 schools requested more than 200,000 awards for qualified students. Sixty students were selected at random, as representatives of their fellow awardees, to attend a White House ceremony on Friday, May 11, 1984, to receive certificates and lapel pins from President Reagan. The students, from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Bureau of Indian Affairs Schools, Department of Defense Dependents Schools, and the Nation’s private schools, are listed below: Alabama Charlene Williams Ramsay Alternative High School Birmingham Alaska Duane Toth Delta Junction School Delta Junction Arizona Stephanie Parzych Phoenix Day School for the Deaf Phoenix Arkansas Lewis Soloff Hall High School Little Rock California Brian Webb Foothill High School Bakersfield Cheryl Lynn Kienel Whittier Christian High School La Habra Juliana Prather Campbell Hall Studio City Colorado Alan Jay Tanaka Overland High School Aurora Connecticut Rosette Nguyen Warren Harding High School Bridgeport Delaware Cornelia Henry Howard Career Center New Castle District of Columbia Laura Collins Benjamin Banneker High School Shawnn K. Shears St. Cecilia’s Academy Florida Elizabeth Board Terry Parker Senior High School Jacksonville Joella Jennings Dade Christian School Miami Lakes Georgia Raymond Randall Wise Johnson High School Savannah Hawaii Maile Jean Loo Kamehameha Secondary School Kailua Idaho Kristen Pederson Idaho Falls High School Idaho Falls Illinois Michael Manson Percy L. Julian High School Chicago Indiana Laura Dunlap North Central High School Indianapolis Iowa Sue Reiter Eagle Grove High School Eagle Grove Kansas Kenneth Gilbert Salina High School South Salina Kentucky Kathy Renfro Edmonson County High School Brownsville Louisiana David Wiggins Marion Abramson High School New Orleans Maine Elaine Michaud Wisdom High School St. Agatha Maryland Steven John Schneiders North East High School Elkton Dena Hilsenrad Bais Yaakov School for Girls Baltimore Massachusetts Heidi McDonald Peter Faneuil School Boston Michigan Richard Yuille Central High School Flint Minnesota Cynthia Ochrymowycz Winona Senior High School Winona Mississippi Gary May Heidelberg High School Heidelberg Missouri Jill MacDonald Lincoln Academy Kansas City Montana Elizabeth M. Muhs Bozeman Senior High School Bozeman Nebraska Jill Kuenzi Norfolk Senior High School Norfolk Nevada Kenneth Alan Broadway Virginia City High School Virginia City New Hampshire Paul Karr Newport High School Newport New Jersey Jane Stackpole Elizabeth High School Elizabeth New Mexico Marsha Wright Clovis High School Clovis New York Lauren Levy James Madison High School Brooklyn North Carolina Martha Jane Waller Watauga High School Boone North Dakota Carol Joy Roise Stanley High School Stanley Ohio John Maxgay Chaney High School Youngstown Oklahoma Brian Thompson Ardmore High School Ardmore Oregon Linda Rayl Forest Grove High School Forest Grove Janice Gologeren Chemawa Indian School Salem Panama Richard Winegar Balboa High School Pennsylvania Kenneth Ames Overbrook High School Philadelphia Puerto Rico Wilberto Nieves University Gardens High School San Juan Rhode Island Kathryn Silvestri Barrington High School Barrington South Carolina John Norton Lexington High School Lexington South Dakota Michael Toppens Lennox High School Lennox Tennessee Amy Amonette Central High School Memphis Texas Teresa Kahanek Highlands High School San Antonio Utah Kelly Stone Roy Senior High School Roy Vermont Christopher P. Brady Burlington High School Burlington Virginia Stephen Edwards Hayfield High School Springfield Thomas P. Ferguson Bishop Ireton High School Alexandria Washington Bruce Barcott Snohomish High School Everett West Virginia Nora Louk Grafton High School Grafton Wisconsin Beverly Haese Reedsville High School Chilton Wyoming Sallie Chase Cody High School Cody

COPYRIGHT 1984 U.S. Government Printing Office

COPYRIGHT 2004 Gale Group