AAAI Intel ISEF Special Awards – Fall News from the American Association for Artificial Intelligence – American Association for Artificial Intelligence

AAAI Intel ISEF Special Awards – Fall News from the American Association for Artificial Intelligence – American Association for Artificial Intelligence – International Science and Engineering Fair

Now in its fourth year, the AAAI Special Awards program at the annual Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) consists of up to fifteen awards to recognize outstanding achievement in the area of intelligent computation and robotics. The awards are intended for the best exhibits in the area of computer science with an artificial intelligence component. Finalists in other areas with significant computer science components are also eligible. The student authors of each award-winning project share $1000 and each student receives a certificate and other momentos. The winners and their schools also receive a complimentary one-year membership in the AAAI, including a subscription to AI Magazine.

This year, the ISEF was held May 12-18 in Louisville, Kentucky. There were 15 winning projects by 16 students (one team). Eight projects were entered in the category of computer science, four in engineering, one in behavioral and social sciences, one in earth and space sciences, and one in mathematics. The 2002 winners are as follows:

* Jessie Cheng, Armonk, New York: “Comparison of Traditional and ASR-Mediated Literacy”

* Robert Kang Xing Jin, Silver Spring, Maryland: “Automated Detection of Boundaries in Microstructure Images”

* Pascal Tom Getreuer, Colorado Springs, Colorado: “Like a Mouse to Cheese”

* Yilin Nie, Chappaqua, New York: “Using Hidden Dynamic Models to Predict Pitch in English and Mandarin”

* Yindong Yu, Shanghai, China: “Computer Recognition of Emotion in Speech”

* Youngki Park, Jinju, Kyongsangnam-do, South Korea: “Finding Solutions to the Problem That Is Indicated for Last Twenty Years in IDA *”

* Jennifer Pei-Kay Gee, Frederick, Maryland: “Prediction of HIV Treatment Responses Using Neural Networks”

* Kimberly Elise Reinhold, Hilo, Hawaii: “Artificial Neural Networks: Mechanisms of Pattern Recognition and Learning”

* Grant A. Elliott, Riviera Beach, Florida: “Autonomous Structural Engineering through Genetic Algorithms”

* Ulyana N. Horodyskyj, Parma, Ohio: “Evolution in Motion: Orbital Optimization Using Genetic Algorithms”

* Joshua Brent Miller, Melbourne, Florida: “Cooperative Autonomous Robotics Utilizing Ant Pheromone Behavior”

* Colin Patrick O’Flynn, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada: “Autonomous Hovercraft: Power of Neural Nets”

* Elena Leah Glassman, Doylestown, Pennsylvania: “Speech Imitation through Analysis, Synthesis, and Optimization”

* Andrew Robert Pariser and Joseph Jailer-Coley, Port Washington, New York: “Creating More Efficient Multi-Robot Systems Using Peer-to-Peer Networking in Search and Retrieve Problems”

* Chun-Chen Yeh, Chineses Taipei: “Winning Strategies for Games Played with Chips”

AAAI congratulates all the winners! In addition, we would like to recognize the judges, who attended the fair in Louisville and selected the 15 winning projects from many remarkable and worthy entries. Many thanks to Reid Simmons (chair) for his organizational efforts, and to all the judges, David Atkinson (head judge), Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), California Institute of Technology, David Kortenkamp, NASA Johnson Space Center/Metrica Inc., Carla Gomes, Cornell University, and Sven Koenig, Georgia Institute of Technology, for their generous donations of time and energy.

COPYRIGHT 2002 American Association for Artificial Intelligence

COPYRIGHT 2002 Gale Group