George Sanchez, radiation therapist for Kootenai Medical Center Oncology Services and the North Idaho Cancer Center, was recently chosen as KMC’s Employee of the Month for February.

Sanchez, who holds an associate of science degree and a certificate in radiation oncology, was chosen due to his level of professionalism, kindness shared with patients, and the courteous and respectful manner in which he conducts himself.

He has been with KMC for nearly five years and previously worked as a radiation therapist in Oakland, Calif.

Lynn Jacobs, a registered nurse from Post Falls, was recently chosen as Pine Crest Hospital’s Employee of the Month for January.

Jacobs, who has worked at Pine Crest for the past 3-1/2 years, graduated from the nursing program at North Idaho College, and works primarily in the adult unit.

She was also chosen by her peers as Pine Crest’s 1995 Nurse of the Year. She says she enjoys working at the hospital because of her fellow employees.

Two Lake City High School seniors have been chosen as National Merit Finalists and were awarded certificates of merit for their achievements.

Andrea Schmitt, and Geoffrey Hosack both maintain 4.0 graide-point averages, participate in honors classes, and have gained status in the merit program which places them in a group representing about half of 1 percent of U.S. high school graduating seniors.

Out of 14,000 finalists, 6,900 will be chosen for three types of awards, including 2,000 students who will receive $2,000 scholarships on a state representational basis.

Schmitt has participated in varsity debate, softball and cheerleading and plans to major in liberal arts and history with an interest in teaching.

Hosack has attended Boys State and the Coeur d’Alene Leadership Academy, lettered in cross country track and debate and plans to study biophysics.

The following employees were recently honored with recognition awards by the city of Coeur d’Alene for 10 or more years of service:

25 or more years; Jim Norlander, Phyllis Van Leuven, Jerry Willis, John Woodruff and Dennis Brillon.

20-24 years; Greg Smith, Ken Timmons, Dave Scates, Ron Hotchkiss, DeAnn Lloyd, Jerry Staver, Faye Higbee, Carl Bergh, Greg Surplus, Don Brown, Connie Schmidt, Glen Harrington, Bill Wolfe, Mike Budvarson, Kim Degenhardt, Marty Knapp, Jim Wuest, Dick Suchocki, Chuck Thomas, Jim Wylie, Steve Anthony, Rosalie Biggs, Dave Yadon, Larry Patton and Cork Raugust.

15-19 years; Dave McKeown, Pat Estes, John Bassett, Don Jiran, Walt Roeske, Wendy Carpenter, Chuck Fritts, Dean McMillen, Darryl Cutler, Steve Koskimaki, Dennis Brodin, Ed Shull, Rich Kirsch, Ken Goos, Paul Fromm, Jesse Hull, Vaughn Walton, Butch Miller, Kirk Marshall, Dale Ruperd, Jim Markley, Rick Wiley, Robin Ricks, Dave Dodson, John Austin, Tim Klein, Denny Stewart, Bob Ligeza, Doug Eastwood, Jerry Sweikert, Vicki Walkenshaw and Rob Beck.

10-14 years; Ken Thompson, Penny Sexton, Susan Smith, Sandy Collins, Laurie Robb, Jean DeBarbieris, John Stamsos, Julie Meier, Alicia Clark, Frank Sexton, Pete Vandall, Carnie McArthur, Jamie McDaniel, Donna Steeley, John Janke, Paula Austin, Tad Johnson, Bill Daniels, Jerry Winter, Gary Hayes, Dale Loper, Jim Greensides, Gerry Evensizer, Ron Clark, Carol Morgan, Kathi Coulter, Chris Bates, Mike Jacobs, Bob Rudio, Sharron Simon, Greg Willette, Kevin Johnson, John Daley, Casey Fisher, David Bradymire, Lou Reed and Dave Shults.

Copyright 1996 Cowles Publishing Company

Provided by ProQuest Information and Learning Company. All rights Reserved.