Radio Control Car Action

2003 Reedy Touring Car Race of Champions

2003 Reedy Touring Car Race of Champions

Sams, Jason

Kickin’ asphalt

EVERY YEAR IN LATE SPRING, the fastest on-road drivers from around the world are invited to race at the Reedy Invitational Touring Car Race of Champions. The Reedy TC Race may not be a sanctioned racing event, but it’s as prestigious and competitive as any world championship event I’ve ever been to. At this year’s race, drivers from Japan, Thailand, England, Germany, Holland and, of course, the U.S. competed for the honor of being crowned as Reedy Invitational Class Champion. Some of the races were decided by tenths of a second, and that kept the spectators-and the racers-on the edge of their seats the entire weekend.

Invitational Class

After the first four rounds, Team Trinity/Team Losi driver David Spashett led with the lowest score, and Team Associated/Reedy driver Barry Baker was a close second; holding down third was Yokomo’s Chris Tosolini. It was anybody’s race going into the final day of racing. Baker and Spashett brought everything they had to the table on Sunday. Yokomo driver Masami Hirosaka also brought his A game; he won three of his final four rounds, and that put him in the hunt for the overall championship. Baker was consistent both days of racing, laying down two firsts and one second place the final day. Spashett also won one race on the final day and tallied two second place finishes. This put Hirosaka, Baker and Spashett in a three-way tie with eight points each. The officials had to look to their “throw-out” scores to determine the finishing order. Baker was the more consistent throughout all eight rounds and rightfully took home the cheddar. Spashett earned second, and Hirosaka took the final podium spot.

Open Modified Class

Andrew Cartwright TQ’d the Open Class, and second qualifier Josh Numan and third qualifier Adam Drake rounded out the top three. In the first Main, Cartwright walked away with the victory and his Schumcher Mission was the only car to make 22 laps. Cartwright’s car broke during the second Main, and that opened the door for Brent Thielke to win the second leg. In the third race, there were quite a few drivers-including Cartwright and Thielke-who could have won the class. Numan was in position to take the overall if he won the final Main, and Thielke finished outside the top two.

In the final race, Cartwright moved out in front with a comfortable lead. Like a bloodthirsty shark, however, Numan’s Triple-XS was in his wake and gaining on him. With about a minute left in the race, Numan was all over the rear fender of Cartwright’s sedan, and he managed to get by him on the next lap. Cartwright didn’t go away easy, though. Just one lap later and with very little time left on the clock, Cartwright tried to sneak inside Numan. The two cars collided and went off track. Cartwright proved to be a class act; since he caused the crash, he let Numan resume the lead. The two raced to the finish line as the crowd cheered and Numan edged out his racing foe by a little over a tenth of a second. Cartwright took second overall with Adam Drake earning third.

19-Turn Class

Rod Canare was king for the weekend sitting as the TQ and was so fast with a 19-turn motor Tamiya Evo III that he could have been competitive in the Open Class. In the Mains, Canare won the first race fairly easily. In the second, he was banged around a little, and that allowed Charlie Suangka to take the victory. In the final Main, Canare was back out in front trying not to screw up. He was able to fend off hard-charging Dave Berger who took second overall with his Alex Racing Barracuda. Third place went to Tom Hibler, and with two wins, Canare took home the big first-place trophy.

Copyright Air Age Publishing Oct 2003

Provided by ProQuest Information and Learning Company. All rights Reserved