55th IFBB men’s world Amateur Bodybuilding Championships promotes global unity

Magic in Myanmar: 55th IFBB men’s world Amateur Bodybuilding Championships promotes global unity

Tony Blinn

Yangon, Myanmar, served as host city for the 2001 World Amateur Bodybuilding Championships. The 55th staging of the contest took place during the week of November 21-26, just two months after the fateful attacks of September 11. Paul Chua, IFBB vice-president for Asia, proved up to the challenge of helping bring unity to our fractured world through the brotherhood of bodybuilding. Chua worked day and night with the organizing committee during the week preceding the championships to ensure that everything ran smoothly and that the World Amateur Bodybuilding Championships would be a triumph.

Helping demonstrate true global involvement in this contest! athletes from more than 60 nations were scheduled to compete. As the competition unfolded, bodybuilders from seven different countries– Vietnam, Brazil, Slovakia, Azerbaijan, Russia, Germany and Poland–won the weight classes. Light-heavyweight winner Thomas Scheu of Germany was selected as the overall champion. The athletes from host country Myanmar were given the nod as best national team; Korea and Egypt were awarded the silver and bronze in that category, respectively. Aung Naing of Myanmar was named most-improved bodybuilder.

Many individuals played a significant role in the success of the event. First among them was Col. Myint Aung, president of the Myanmar Bodybuilding Federation, who worked tirelessly on these championships. Others deserve to be singled out for their warm hospitality and kindness, including Capt. HIa Myint Swe, Khin Maung Yee, U Kyaw Than and U Tin Maung Swe.

In addition, other individuals deserve heartfelt thanks and appreciation for their patronage of the event, including Lt. Gen. Khin Nyunt, secretary of the State Peace and Development Council and chairman of the National Health Committee; Brig. Gen. Thura Aye Myint, minister for Sports; and U Ko Lay, mayor of Yangon.

Every year, the World Amateur Championships proves to be one of the most exciting bodybuilding shows, drawing athletes, officials and spectators from all over the planet. Recent world events have created a great need for bodybuilders to come together, not only in the name of competition, but to help further the cause of global unity. The 2001 rendition of the World Amateur contest helped fill that need.


Yangon, Myanmar; November 21-26, 2001


1 Pham Van Mach Vietnam

2 Aung Naing Myanmar

3 Tun Tun Aung Myanmar

4 Wang Bung Cho Korea

5 Mohamed El Bialy Egypt

6 Do Kyung On Korea


1 Jose Carlos Santos Brazil

2 Anwar El Amawy Egypt

3 In Chai Korea

4 Anatolu Masimov Azerbaijan

5 Aung Khine Win Myanmar

6 Lee Lap Chi China-Hong Kong


1 Igor Kocis Slovakia

2 Yossri Sayed Egypt

3 Han Dong Ki Korea

4 Young Sub Lee Korea

5 Werner Zenk Germany

6 Assad Tafair Iraq


1 Tagir Fakhrudinov Azerbaijan

2 Zaw Thein Naing Myanmar

3 *

4 Kim Myung Sub Korea

5 Eduard Derzapf Germany

6 Andrej Mozolani Slovakia


1 Serguei Dimitriev Russia

2 Pavlos Mentis Greece

3 Frank Schramm Germany

4 Tamer El Shahat Egypt

5 Juraj Vrabel Slovakia

6 Ilya Goroshko Russia


1 Thomas Scheu (and overall) Germany

2 Pawel Brzozka Poland

3 Pavel Ershov Russia

4 Ladislav Kurcik Czech Republic

5 Stavros Malactos Cyprus

6 Ian Dowe England


1 Mariusz Strzelinski Poland

2 Petr Weinlich Czech Republic

3 Rolandus Pocius Lithuania

4 *

5 *

6 Mohamed Anouti Lebanon

* No medal awarded for this placing. The top three competitors in each

class were drug tested. Remaining competitors were tested randomly. IFBB

rules state that only athletes who pass a drug test can receive a medal.

COPYRIGHT 2002 Weider Publications

COPYRIGHT 2003 Gale Group