Categories
Review of Metaphysics, The

Self and World in Schopenhauer’s Philosophy. (book review)

Self and World in Schopenhauer’s Philosophy. (book review) Jacquette, Dale JANAWAY, Christopher. Self and World in Schopenhauer’s Philosophy. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1999. xii + 378 pp. Paper, $26.95–When it first appeared in hardcover in 1989, Christopher Janaway’s Self and World in Schopenhauer’s Philosophy was immediately hailed as a brilliant exposition of Schopenhauer’s thought and a […]

Categories
Review of Metaphysics, The

Descartes’s Meditations: Critical Essays.(Review) (book review)

Descartes’s Meditations: Critical Essays.(Review) (book review) Smith, Kurt CHAPPELL, Vere, ed. Descartes’s Meditations: Critical Essays. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman and Littlefield, 1997. xvi + 272 pp. Cloth, $34.00; paper, $14.95–This book is a collection of eleven terrific essays that represent a span of nearly thirty years of Descartes scholarship. As the title indicates, the book aims […]

Categories
Review of Metaphysics, The

The Emergence of German Idealism. (Summaries And Comments).(Review)

The Emergence of German Idealism. (Summaries And Comments).(Review) Linker, Damon BAUR, Michael and DAHLSTROM, Daniel O., eds. The Emergence of German Idealism. Studies in Philosophy and the History of Philosophy, vol. 34. Washington, D. C.: The Catholic University of America Press, 1999. vi + 334 pp. Cloth, n. p.–German Idealism can be said to have […]

Categories
Review of Metaphysics, The

Toulmin, Stephen. Return to Reason.(Book Review)

Toulmin, Stephen. Return to Reason.(Book Review) Decaen, Christopher A. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2001. xi + 243 pp. Cloth, $24.95–Lacking a subtitle as it does, the name of this work might lead one unfamiliar with Stephen Toulmin’s previous writings to expect an extended criticism and condemnation of postmodern thought and its skeptical excesses; although postmodernity […]

Categories
Review of Metaphysics, The

Barnes, Jonathan. Truth, etc

Barnes, Jonathan. Truth, etc Edward M. Engelmann BARNES, Jonathan. Truth, etc. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 2007. viii + 551 pp. Cloth, $65.00–“Ancient logic is not sexy,” laments Jonathan Barnes in his introduction to Truth, etc. Yet in the tradition of Lewis Carroll, Barnes has given us a book on logic that is witty, entertaining, and idiosyncratic. […]

Categories
Review of Metaphysics, The

Bielefeldt, Heiner. Symbolic Representation in Kant’s Practical Philosophy

Bielefeldt, Heiner. Symbolic Representation in Kant’s Practical Philosophy Lara Ostaric BIELEFELDT, Heiner. Symbolic Representation in Kant’s Practical Philosophy. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2003. xiii + 202 pp. Cloth, $60.00–Heiner Bielefeldt’s aim is to demonstrate that Kant’s practical philosophy can help solve, what Bielefeldt calls, the “paradox of liberalism” (p. 1). On the one hand, […]