PPFA Awards Top Frame Design – Professional Picture Framers Association’s

PPFA Awards Top Frame Design – Professional Picture Framers Association’s – Brief Article


The art and framing industry’s top framing designs took honors at Perspective 2000, the Professional Picture Framers Association’s convention hosted in Atlanta this fall. Each year, framers from across the country and Canada enter PPFA’s annual framing competitions vying for national recognition of technical framing expertise and artistic design, and, in some cases, cash awards.

This year, 26 individuals and groups entered PPFA’s Print and Opening Framing Competitions, with eight walking away as top picks. This year’s first-place winners in both competitions earned $1,000 each. Second- and third-place winners in the competitions received $500 and $200 respectively.

In the Print Competition, framers framed the same piece of artwork, which this year was a machine-embroidered needlework.

First Place: Staff of Lois Guinn Picture Framing Gallery McMurray, Pa.; Second Place: Kathleen Courtney, CPFCM Designation Holder; and Cecil Courtney, The Courtney Frame Shop, Aliquippa, Pa.; Third Place: Janie Peters and Sarah Schroeder, Kelly’s Custom Frames, Lafayette, Ind.; Honorable Mention: Deborah J. Hill, CPFCM Designation Holder, Frame Craft/Lampros Gallery, The Woodlands, Texas. Winning in the Popular Choice category was Deborah J. Hill, CPFCM Designation Holder.

In PPFA’s Open Framing Competition, framers selected their own print or item to frame. The object of this competition is to encourage innovation in framing design, so subject matter and materials are unrestricted and member framers are invited to unleash their creativity.

First Place: Michael Derr, CPFCM Designation Holder, Frame-n-Art, Albuquerque, N.M.; Second Place: Marty Cipolla, CPFCM Designation Holder, Marty’s Frame Shoppe & Art Gallery, Fort Worth, Texas; Third Place: Tara Dunn, Memory Lane Frame Shop, Garner, N.C. Winning in the Popular Choice category in the Open Competition was Ed Pioli, CPFCM Designation Holder.

COPYRIGHT 2000 Pfingsten Publishing, LLC

COPYRIGHT 2004 Gale Group